Visa Waiver Program


The Visa Waiver Program is available to foreign nationals from certain eligible countries who wish to enter the U.S. temporarily for pleasure. Eligible foreign nationals may travel to visit the U.S. for pleasure without obtaining a Department of State (or consulate) issued-visa using the Visa Waiver Program. Currently, twenty-eight countries participate in the Visa Waiver Program: Andorra, Australia, Australia, Belgium, Brunei, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and Uruguay.

Application Procedures and Restrictions

Eligible foreign nationals may enter the U.S. on the Visa Waiver Program or "holiday visa" simply by presenting a valid passport from an eligible visa waiver country. Foreign nationals from eligible countries may not, however, use the visa waiver program if they have ever been convicted of a crime, remained in the U.S. beyond the expiration of their legal status, been denied entry into the U.S., or been denied a U.S. visa. Moreover, visitors entering the U.S. on the Visa Waiver Program are not authorized to work or study while in the U.S.

Time Limits

Visitors entering on the Visa Waiver Program are permitted entry for no longer than ninety days and they are not eligible to apply with the CIS to extend or change their status to another Non-immigrant visa classification.

For the latest info on the Visa Waiver Program and a list of participating countries, please visit the Department of State website here.

(Go back to the top of this page)

Translate this Webpage:

Immigration FAQ
Additional FAQ Topics


150 Strafford Ave., Suite 115
Wayne, PA 19087
Phone: Fax:
(610) 975-4599
(610) 687-2100
Google Map | Mapquest